Five-Star National Recognition Program

Every year AAUW’s Five-Star National Recognition Program rewards branches for aligning their work with the AAUW strategic plan and initiatives that foster the mission of advancing gender equity for women and girls. The current program covers branch activities and programs from July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023 (FY23).

FY23 Five-Star Criteria & Resources


*Only 3 required for a star in this area
  • Raise $30 per member in FY23 towards the Greatest Needs Fund

  • Increase contributions to the Greatest Needs Fund by 15% from the last fiscal year.

  • Retain at least 80% of your branch membership.

  • Recruit at least one Legacy Circle member from your branch in FY23.
  • Public Policy & Research
  • Appoint a branch public policy chair for FY23.

  • Conduct an annual meeting with a member of Congress, Governor, or a member of their staff around a strategic plan focus. Branches in the same state can work in coalition to achieve this goal.

  • Host at least one event where there is an opportunity to sign up for the Action Network.
  • Governance & Sustainability
  • Branch board institutes a succession plan to ensure new ideas and perspectives are included in future leadership.

  • Branch board develops and uses a strategic plan that aligns with AAUW national strategic plan.

  • Appoint a Diversity Officer* to lead diversity and inclusion planning on behalf of the branch with the support of the board.

  • *Diversity Officer does not need to be a board member and does not require a change in bylaws.
  • Host at least 4 mission-based programs that align with the AAUW strategic plan.
  • Communications & External Relations
  • All existing website and social media accounts have at least 3-5 postings with a DEI focus in FY23.
  • Benefits

    • FY23 Five Star Banner for your website
    • FY23 Five Star success story featured in Membership Matters
    • Five Star Leadership Briefing
    • Email recognition from AAUW national
    • Branch listing on the national website

    • Recognition in Membership Matters
    • Email recognition from AAUW national
    • Branch listing on the national website

    • Email recognition from AAUW national
    • Branch listing on the national website

    FY23 Application Process

    In fall of 2023, AAUW national will email a survey to branch leaders collecting important data on their work between July 1, 2022 and June 30, 2023. Some of the questions on this survey will correlate to the Five Star criteria listed above. Responses to that survey will be used as the Five Star Program application for FY23 and going forward. Membership Matters and member leader emails will provide details on the timing of the survey as we get closer to fall 2023.

    Five-Star Success Stories

    Get advice and inspiration from branches that achieved Five Star success in previous years as you embark on your own journey.

    Read their Words of Wisdom 

    Meet the Stars

    Thank You to Our Award-Winning Branches and States

    Fremont (CA)
    Greater Whittier Area (CA)
    Brandman University Virtual Branch (CA)
    Chicago (IL)
    Elmhurst Area (IL)
    Batavia-Geneva-St. Charles (IL)
    Battle Creek (MI)
    Farmington (MI)
    Los Alamos (NM)
    Kingston (NY)
    Harrisburg (PA)
    Northeast Tarrant County (TX)

    Petaluma (CA)
    Daytona Beach (FL)
    Tampa (FL)
    Rochester (MI)
    Burlington County (NJ)
    North Shore Long Island (NY)
    Fox Chapel Area (PA)

    Chico (CA)
    East San Gabriel Valley (CA)
    Gilroy (CA)
    Danville-Alamo-Walnut Creek (CA)
    California Online Branch (CA)
    Longmont (CO)
    Saint Augustine (FL)
    Elgin Area (IL)
    Naperville Area (IL)
    Charlotte (NC)
    Salisbury (NC)
    Alexandria (VA)
    Woodbridge (VA)
    Monona-Madison AAUW (WI)
    Tomah (WI)

    La Mesa-El Cajon (CA)
    Napa County (CA)
    Orinda-Moraga-Lafayette (CA)
    Palos Verdes Peninsula (CA)
    Redding (CA)
    Redlands (CA)
    Mid-Peninsula (CA)
    San Fernando Valley (CA)
    Lompoc-Vandenberg (CA)
    Morgan Hill (CA)
    Aurora (CO)
    Greater Naples (FL)
    Honolulu (HI)
    Schaumburg Area (IL)
    Dearborn (MI)
    Greensboro (NC)
    Middletown (OH)
    Salem (OR)
    Northeast Tarrant County (TX)
    Springfield-Annandale (VA)
    Virginia Beach (VA)
    Reston-Herndon Area (VA)
    McLean Area (VA)
    Seattle (WA)
    Appleton (WI)
    West Suburban Milwaukee (WI)
    Fort Atkinson (WI)
    Janesville (WI)
    Racine (WI)

    Questions or Concerns?

    Contact Tremayne Parquet, Deputy Director of Advancement, at

    Please direct membership inquiries to