One of the many ways that AAUW recognizes women’s achievements and contributions to society is through its awards program. We honor women at all stages of their careers — including our members, previous grantees and other remarkable women leaders — as well as projects and organizations that have helped create a more equitable world. Previous honorees include astronauts, humanitarians, Supreme Court justices, Nobel laureates and many more pioneering women who changed history.

Sonia Sotomayor, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States
Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor

The AAUW Achievement Award

Through the Achievement Award, presented to an individual whose record of achievement spans 20 or more years, AAUW publicly recognizes the highest standards of service in the public and private sectors.

Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala
Dr. Okonjo-Iweala

The AAUW Alumnae Recognition Award

The AAUW Alumnae Recognition Award honors a past recipient of an AAUW fellowship or grant who has attained outstanding success and national or international distinction as a result of her AAUW award in her chosen profession or life’s work.

Logo for SurvJustice, a nonprofit that provides legal assistance to survivors of sexual violence

The AAUW Eleanor Roosevelt Award

The Eleanor Roosevelt Fund Award honors an individual, project, organization, or institution for outstanding contributions to equity and education.

2019 Woman of Distinction Ashley Nell Tipton of Project Runway (Photo by Dayna Smith)
Ashley Nell Tipton

Women of Distinction

Women of Distinction Awards, awarded by AAUW as a part of the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders, recognize women who set a high standard of excellence in their professions.