See the Women of Distinction at NCCWSL

May 14, 2012

Last week, we introduced you to two of the six women who will be honored at the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL). The Women of Distinction Awards ceremony, which is held during the conference, pays tribute to women leaders who have made extraordinary contributions to their professions or communities. NCCWSL attendees will hear each of these inspiring women speak on Thursday, May 31. Don’t miss your chance to meet this year’s awardees!

Registration for the 2012 conference closes on May 16. Sign up for NCCWSL today to secure your opportunity for unparalleled leadership training.

The following are two of the six outstanding Women of Distinction. We’ve already introduced you to Noorjahan Akbar and Alison Cohen. Stay tuned for a blog post that will feature the two remaining honorees!

Liza Donnelly

Cartoonist and Writer, The New Yorker

Liza Donnelly is a staff cartoonist for the New Yorker. When she first began selling her work to the magazine in 1979, she was the youngest and one of only three women cartoonists at that time. In addition to her work as a cartoonist, Donnelly is a public speaker and has appeared at TED (Technology, Entertainment, and Design), the United Nations, and the New Yorker Festival as well as on CBS Sunday Morning, NBC, and BetterTV.

Sandra Fluke

Women’s Advocate and Georgetown Law Student

Sandra Fluke is completing her final semester as a public interest law scholar at Georgetown University Law Center. She has devoted her career to advocating for gender equity in all sectors of society. Recently, she testified before the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee on the need to provide access to contraception, which she has been advocating for since she arrived at Georgetown.

The Barbara Fetterhoff Honorary Fund is a platinum sponsor of the 2012 NCCWSL Women of Distinction Awards ceremony and reception. AAUW of Maryland, many generous friends of Barbara’s, and AAUW donors from across the country are contributing to this fund to honor AAUW member Barbara Fetterhoff for her continuing leadership, vision, and commitment.

Part 1  |  This is part 2  |  Part 3

Avatar By:   |   May 14, 2012

Join the Conversation

You must be logged in to post a comment.