AAUW and NASPA to Celebrate Women Trailblazers at Conference

May 17, 2013


Media Contacts:
Katie Broendel, broendelk@aauw.org

Lisa Goodnight, goodnightl@aauw.org


Donna Shalala and Ritu Sharma to Appear

WASHINGTON — On May 30, the American Association of University Women (AAUW) and NASPA — Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education will honor six women innovators in media, advocacy, politics, and business at the Women of Distinction Awards ceremony as part of the 28th annual National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL) at the University of Maryland, College Park.

Honorees include gay rights activist Katie Miller, Owens Media Group CEO Deborah Owens, Girls Who Code Founder Reshma Saujani, University of Miami President Donna Shalala, Women Thrive Worldwide Co-founder and President Ritu Sharma, and CytonomeST Chief Scientific Officer Lydia Villa-Komaroff.

In addition to the Women of Distinction awards, NCCWSL will feature keynote speeches from author and educator Rachel Simmons and MindWorks Leadership CEO Nina Godiwalla on Friday, May 31, and Saturday, June 1, respectively.

This year, more than 700 college and university students from around the world will attend the conference for skill-building workshops, networking, and volunteer opportunities in addition to hearing these inspiring speakers. Students will also attend a graduate school fair held during the conference.

“We are delighted that this year’s NCCWSL will be bigger than ever. A record number of students registered and will have the opportunity to connect with more graduate schools and employers than ever,” said AAUW Executive Director Linda D. Hallman, CAE. “This outstanding conference provides students a unique opportunity to meet and talk with renowned and influential women leaders.”

“As student affairs professionals, we engage and empower women student leaders through campus opportunities and responsibilities every day,” said NASPA President Kevin Kruger. “We are excited that women who participate in this year’s NCCWSL event will return to their campuses with renewed energy and innovative ideas to effect change in their communities.”

Students agree: “NCCWSL was an experience of a lifetime,” said past attendee Jennifer Bullock from Norwalk Community College in Connecticut. “I learned things that I am sure I will take with me through the rest of my life.”

The 2013 NCCWSL Women of Distinction Awards ceremony and reception are supported by AAUW of Maryland’s Barbara Fetterhoff Honorary Fund. A full listing of NCCWSL supporters and a conference schedule are available on the NCCWSL website.

By:   |   May 17, 2013