AAUW and NASPA to Celebrate Women Trailblazers at Conference

May 24, 2012


Katie Broendel, broendelk@aauw.org

Lisa Goodnight, goodnightl@aauw.org


Noorjahan Akbar, Alison Cohen, Liza Donnelly, Sandra Fluke, Michel Martin, and Maggie Williams to Appear

WASHINGTON — On May 31, the American Association of University Women (AAUW) and NASPA—Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education will honor six women innovators in media, advocacy, politics, and business at the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL). Afghan women’s activist Noorjahan Akbar, Alta Bicycle Share CEO Alison Cohen, New Yorker cartoonist Liza Donnelly, women’s health care advocate Sandra Fluke, NPR host Michel Martin, and former Hillary Clinton campaign manager and political consultant Maggie Williams will receive Women of Distinction Awards at the 27th annual conference at the University of Maryland, College Park.

In addition to the Women of Distinction Awards, NCCWSL will feature keynote speeches from fair-pay icon Lilly Ledbetter and spoken-word performer Mayda del Valle on Friday, June 1, and Saturday, June 2, respectively.

“This conference is special because we are connecting women across generations, experiences, and communities. It’s not every day that college students have the opportunity to rub elbows with world renowned leaders, award-winning journalists, newsmakers, and passionate women philanthropists,” said AAUW Executive Director Linda D. Hallman, CAE.

“Those of us in student affairs are committed to educating the whole student and integrating student life and learning,” said NASPA President Kevin Kruger. “We look forward to the ways in which the young women attending this conference will return to their campuses with the tools needed to effect positive change in their communities.”

This year, more than 550 college and university students from around the world will attend the conference, which includes skill-building workshops, networking, and volunteer opportunities in addition to inspiring speakers. Past conference attendee Bethany Petek of Pacific Lutheran University remembers the event fondly. “This conference and being around hundreds of driven, passionate, strong, and smart women has climbed the charts to be one of the most defining points in my life,” she said.

The Women of Distinction Awards ceremony and reception are supported by the Barbara Fetterhoff Honorary Fund. A full listing of NCCWSL supporters and a conference schedule are available on the NCCWSL website.


By:   |   May 24, 2012