AAUW and NASPA to Celebrate Women Trailblazers at College Leadership Conference

May 19, 2011


Katie Broendel, broendelk@aauw.org

Lisa Goodnight, goodnightl@aauw.org


Connie Chung, Swanee Hunt, Lisa Jackson, Natalie Randolph, and Shelby Knox to Appear

WASHINGTON — The American Association of University Women (AAUW) and NASPA–Student Affairs Administrators in Higher Education will honor five women with the 2011 Women of Distinction Awards Thursday, June 2 during the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL) at the University of Maryland, College Park. This year’s awardees are pioneer broadcast journalist Connie Chung; Ambassador Swanee Hunt; Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Lisa Jackson; high school football coach Natalie Randolph; and University of Maryland, College Park, student union director Marsha Guenzler-Stevens.

More than 500 college and university students are expected to attend the conference, which has drawn high-profile speakers and newsmakers since its inception in 1985. Sex-education advocate Shelby Knox and Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges President Belle S. Wheelan will deliver the keynote speeches at the conference, which will be held June 2–4.

Last year’s Women of Distinction Awards Ceremony drew nearly 500 women from 48 states, Washington, D.C., the Virgin Islands, Guam, and Jamaica. After that gathering, Kristin Nicholls of Hofstra University said she “felt inspired [by] so much brilliance and desire for change in one room!”

The 2011 ceremony is sponsored by the Barbara Fetterhoff Honorary Fund. A full listing of NCCWSL supporters and a conference schedule are available at www.nccwsl.org.


By:   |   May 19, 2011